Updates for 7.1

patch-7-1-kara-logo

Hello!

Sorry it took me a little while to update the guide for 7.1. There were several things I wanted to change/update on the spreadsheet, so I made sure to get that squared away first. As a side note, there are a lot more people using the spreadsheet, which is great, but I want to write a post giving some context to what the spreadsheet is and is not good for. I also want to try to make at least some form of documentation for it, but I’ll try to do that when I get back from Blizzcon.

There weren’t too many changes from 7.1, but I’ll give a quick recap for people who don’t want to have to go back through the entire guide to find what changed.

The official changes from the patch notes:

  • Flash of Light now heals for 450% of spell power (was 425%) and costs 18% of base mana (was 16%)
  • The Rule of Law talent now increases the radius of Tyr’s Deliverance by 50% (up to 22.5 yards).
  • Light’s Hammer now costs 35% of base mana (was 40%).
  • Sanctified Wrath now extends Avenging Wrath by 5 seconds (was 10 seconds).
  • The Tier 19 2-piece bonus increases Holy Shock’s critical chance by 10% (was 15%).

The buff to Flash of Light won’t change our gameplay in any meaningful way, but it does further increase the value of critical strike due to even larger Infusion-of-Light-buffed Flash of Lights.

The Rule of Law and Light’s Hammer buffs aren’t really very noteworthy except to say that Light’s Hammer still has issues beyond mana cost that make it a little weaker than Bestow Faith and Crusader’s Might, but this does help some.

The nerf to Sanctified Wrath isn’t too bad. It will still be good to use in burst healing situations and still the best talent for Dungeons. Several Paladins had already started making the switch from Sanctified Wrath to Judgment of Light (especially with the legendary ring), so this change doesn’t have a huge effect on talent selection. Judgment of Light is chosen for most fights and Sanctified Wrath for fights where you need better cooldowns or burst healing.

The change to the T19 2-piece set bonus is understandable. We’re already fairly close to being crit capped for Holy Shock even without the bonus. This does change the crit softcap with Tier 19 to 45% instead of 42.5%. Again, the crit softcap is never something you need to reach, it’s just the point where crit loses a lot of value.

The last significant change from 7.1 is the re-introduction of the new Mythic Dungeon, Karazhan. The 2nd boss of the dungeon, the Maiden of Virtue, drops the Drape of Shame, a cloak that increases the healing of all crit heals by 10%. This is an absurdly powerful cloak and will be best-in-slot at any item level.

(Nov. 7, 2016 Edit: The cloak’s passive is half of what I previously thought. The key difference is that it increases the effect of crit healing, not the crit healing itself. Don’t worry, it’s still really good and better than anything we can currently get.)

13 thoughts on “Updates for 7.1

  1. Gouryella November 3, 2016 / 10:26 pm

    Nice summary, had missed the t19 change in the notes.

    About Drape of Shame it only increases the critical effect by 10 % which means it increases the total heal by 5 % on a critical.

    Like

    • Dreamguard November 8, 2016 / 12:13 am

      Thank you! I didn’t have the cloak, so I hadn’t tested it, but I got someone else to help me out and you’re right. I fixed the spreadsheet to reflect that 🙂

      Like

  2. cremor November 6, 2016 / 3:09 pm

    Is Drape of Shame even better than the legendary Retribution cloak? Is 5% more healing on critical heals really better than 345 more int and 121 more in secondary stats?

    Like

    • Dreamguard November 8, 2016 / 12:15 am

      Yes, it is. Previously it was somewhere near 18-20k increase in HPS. Now that I’ve realized it’s effect is half of what I thought, it’s still a ~12k increase to healing and the difference between an 855 ilvl cloak and an ilvl 900 cloak is only around 6k.

      So it’s twice as good as the Ret legendary cloak or any other cloak you can currently get.

      Like

  3. richard wheeler December 9, 2016 / 12:18 am

    Do you plan to update the spreadsheet to include the Silver Touch healing increase? Looks like it is an initial 5% increase and a .5% increase for every level after

    Like

    • Dreamguard December 9, 2016 / 6:01 pm

      I could, but it wouldn’t really make any difference other than raise the HPS values a little.

      Like

  4. Eva December 14, 2016 / 9:56 am

    Hey Dreamguard,

    Thank you for your guides, they are awesome ❤
    I have a question about Gnawed Thumb Ring. Is it also a good ring to use over anything else? I've read some contradicting opinions, some saying it is BiS at any ilvl, others saying it is bad compared to 880 ilvl rings with best stats.
    What's your say about this?
    Cheers

    Like

    • Dreamguard December 14, 2016 / 5:45 pm

      You’re welcome!

      I haven’t been able to give a quantifiable value to the Gnawed Thumb Ring. I think it’s good, but I don’t know if I would go as far as saying it’s best in slot at any item level.

      I would say it’s worth roughly 20 item levels? Again, that’s not really based on anything other than napkin math.

      It pairs really well with Aura Mastery, but it doesn’t really do anything for Devo, it’s a small increase to Aura of Mercy, and it’s a pretty hefty increase for Aura of Sacrifice (assuming you’re already getting good use of AoSac anyway). I just don’t find myself using Aura of Sacrifice on all that many fights.

      Like

  5. cremor January 11, 2017 / 12:12 pm

    Since there is no seperate post for 7.1.5, I’ll use this one to talk about the 7.1.5 spreadsheet. I hope that’s ok.

    I’ve just copied the latest version of your spreadsheet and entered my stats. And now it shows me stat weights of (Leech) > Int > Haste > Crit > Mastery > Vers. And that’s with Drape of Shame. What happended there, why is Haste suddenly so high? The latest spreadsheet version from before 7.1.5 showed Haste with the lowest weight using the same settings and very similar gear.

    Like

    • Dreamguard January 11, 2017 / 6:41 pm

      I removed the 10% reduction to Haste’s weight that used to be there. Haste is the only stat that doesn’t increase the efficiency of mana, so I had put that 10% reduction to show people that there were adverse effects to Haste compared to other stats. Similarly, there used to be a 10% increase to Versatility due to its damage reduction, but I reduced that to 5% in the 7.1.5 changes.

      Like

      • cremor January 11, 2017 / 7:16 pm

        So you say that the stat weights for me look correct and I should really get some more Haste?

        I noticed that Aura of Mercy reduces all secondary weights compared to Devotion Aura, but extremely devaluates Haste and Mastery. With Aura of Mercy Crit is cleary my best secondary stat again. Does this look correct to you? Why is Haste and Mastery so much more valuable with Devotion Aura? I usually run with Devotion Aura because I do Mythic+ but don’t do raids.

        Like

  6. Zaier March 5, 2017 / 6:14 am

    Quick question. I have an 865 Drape of Shame with a socket. How do you think this compares to Maraad’s Dying Breath at 940 ilvl? I have Prydaz and Sephuz, so I would have to unequip one of those to equip the cloak.

    Like

Leave a comment